James Zabiela to release Utilities CD on Renaissance

As we reported in our recent interview, James Zabiela once again joins forces with Renaissance for the follow-up to 2004's acclaimed 'ALiVE' mix album. On 'Utilities', James puts forth his strongest effort yet with this innovative mix that explores new techniques in DJ mixing. The two discs are labeled as 'Computed' and 'Recorded,' and, as the names suggest, one uses the revolutionary Ableton technology and was recorded entirely on computer, whilst the other was made entirely live on 3 CD decks, samplers and a EFX units. The album showcases James' growing ability to bridge the experimental and club worlds, and it embodies a sound that presents a dancefloor take on techy, electro flavored progressive house, with just enough breaks to keep the funk oozing in.

'Utilities' is also a platform to showcase James' very first foray into the world of original production. The result is two incredible cuts – 'Robophobia' and 'EyeAMComputer', which are currently causing mayhem on dancefloors around the world. Beyond his own productions James draws on a host of current talent, including the previously unavailable Kriece remix of Aphex Twin's seminal 'Windowlicker' and tracks and remixes from Infusion, Buick Project, Trentemoller, Lee Coombs, Montero and many more.

James Zabiela - Renaissance Presents : Utilities Tracklist:

Disk 1
01. James Zabiela & Nick Boulton - Quantum Realities (Intro)
02. Decomposed Subsonics - Atlantic View
03. The Consumer - Your Soul For Access
04. Wyatt Earp & Little Mike - Android (Original Mix)
05. Aphex Twin - Windowlicker (Kriece Mix)
06. Solid Groove - This Is Sick
07. James Zabiela - EyeAmComputer
08. Soundex - On/Off
09. Lee Coombs - Outta My Mind (Breaks Mix)
10. Lee Coombs - Outta My Mind (House Mix)
11. Will Saul - Mbira (Infusion Mix)
12. James Zabiela - Robophobia (JZ's Childhood Edit)
13. Abysm - Future Love
14. Nicolas Vallee Presente Silvertone - Theme From Silvertone
15. Hugg & Pepp - Snabeln
16. Hisham Samawi & Dennis Rodgers - Through You (Outro)

Disk 2
01. Hisham Samawi & Dennis Rodgers - Through You
02. Martin C - The Escape
03. Trentmoller - Rykketid
04. Walter Ercolino - One Flew Over The Cocoo's Nest
05. Montero - Captain Hook (House Mix)
06. Rob Mooney - Feelin' Electo
07. Buick Project - At The Rave
08. Gerome Sportelli - Growth
09. Hugg & Pepp - Pellefant
10. PMT - Gyromancer (Elite Force Mix)
11. The Carbon Community - Simon Says
12. Ellen Allien - Sehnsucht (Zabiela Live Edit)

Release Date is: Monday, June 20th 2005.

James Zabiela to release Utilities CD on Renaissance

June 5, 2005 at 6:46 PM CEST

Comments on this article: