Sonar 2006 lineup published

The thirteenth Sonar festival - Barcelona's international festival of advanced music and multimedia art - will take place on 15, 16 and 17 of June and features a line-up heavily influenced by black music culture and Japan's fertile electronic music soundscape. Distributed via 3 days and 2 nights in a selection of locations, the wide spectrum of music and multimedia projects on offer outshines your average festival concept.

Sonar 2006 promises a panoramic programme - incorporating reggae, dub, hip-hop, jazz, funk and disco music, minimalism, techno, house, ambient pop, fusion and improvisation.

Sonar by day will review the latest trends in electronica, advanced rock, electro, hip-hop, electronic pop, digital concretism, electronic folk and experimental jazz on its regular stages, SonarVillage, SonarComplex, Sonarama and the Hall stage; and its other classic exhibition and disclosure areas, SónarCinema, Conferences and Debates, and SónarMática.

Nightmares on Wax will offer one of the most eagerly awaited concerts at Sonar by night, showcasing "In a Space Outta Sound", their fifth LP, at full volume. Other important performances night time performances will include Rahzel & DJ JS-One, Ryoji Ikeda, Herbert & Dani Siciliano, Infadels, Goldfrapp, Isolée, The MFA, Tiga, Superthriller, DJ Krush, Afra & The Incredible Beatbox Band, Diplo + A-Track, Sasha and DJ Vadim's One Self.

Alongside continuous support at past events, Sonar 2006 reiterates its commitment to black music culture with a line up full of representative figures as well as artists in parallel contexts who haven't been able to escape the spell of this irresistible sound. This year, different styles and influences provide an inclusive picture of what is currently happening in the areas of hip-hop (Digable Planets, Ugly Duckling, Rahzel & DJ JS-One, Jake The Rapper, DJ Krush), turntablism (Diplo & A-Trak, Birdy Nam Nam), nu jazz and acid jazz (Gilles Peterson, Mwëslee), house (Kenny Dope), techno (Jeff Mills), electronics with soul (Nightmares On Wax), soul-funk with a rap emphasis (the DJ Vadim One Self project) and ghettotech (Disco D). Perhaps one of the biggest highlights could well come in the form of a rare appearance from the musical group Chic, one of the founding fathers of disco music. Special attention should also be placed on representatives of Jamaican sounds, from Linton Kwesi Johnson's spoken word to Dom Sotgiu's reggae wisdom right through to the reinvention of dub by Pole, Bus Featuring MC Soom-T, and Eliot Lipp.

Japanese music has been a major theme at Sonar over the years but for 2006 it takes centre stage, promoting Japan's innovative sound-makers. The Japanese music scene is one of the most vibrant and complex in the world. It's particularly idiosyncratic nature, which bears no relationship to Western fashions, has encouraged a harmonious coexistence between cutting edge and popular sounds in a unique communion, which can only be understood in its own context. Leading the way are main players such as Merzbow, Sketch Show, Towatom, Mu, Otomo Yoshihide & Sachiko M, KK Null, Tujiko Noriko, Gak Sato and global status DJ Satoshi Tomiie.

(Source: Sonar 2006)

In honour of the 10th anniversary of the Purpose Maker's finest moment - 'The Bells' -Jeff Mills will be celebrating in the best way possible with a masterful set of blistering techno that promises to be, as always, a Sonar by night classic moment. Not to be outdone, the UK's very own Dave Clarke will provide his own brand of powerful techno grooves. Elsewhere Laurent Garnier will once again grace the Sonar platform and Richie Hawtin is set to reinforce his untouchable closing performance at last year's event with a mouth-watering techno exploration with the assistance of Ricardo Villalobos. B-Pitch's secret techno assault weapon Modeselektor will no doubt cause further vibrations. Following the excellent label showcase from Get Physical at Sonar 2005, this year's roster is just as tempting. Perhaps the pick of the action is Matthew Dear as Audion headlining the display from Ghostly International offshoot Spectral Sound, supported by Body Code and Ryan Elliot. And expect entertaining showcases from Capsule, Plop and Musicxport.

The full line up incorporates:

Concert and DJ's:

.Tape. (Spa.rk)
12Twelve (Acuarela)
Afra & the Incredible Beatbox Band (Oddjob)
alva noto + ryuichi sakamoto, insen (Rasternoton)
AZ Rotator (Ad Noiseam)
Birdy Nam Nam (Uncivilised World)
CHIC feat. Nile Rodgers (US)
Circlesquare (Output)
Dave Clarke (Skint)
Digable Planets (Blue Note)
Diplo vs A-Trak (Big Dada)
Disco D (Disco Digital)
DJ Krush (Sony)
Dom Sotgiu plays Blood and Fire (Blood and Fire)
Doravideo (Macaroni Records)
Fat Freddy's Drop (The Drop)
Gilles Peterson & MC Earl Zinger (Talkin' Loud)
Goldfrapp (Mute)
Herbert & Dani Siciliano (Accidental)
Horio Kanta (New Sonic)
Infadels (World Of Sound)
Isolée (Playhouse)
Jeff Mills (Axis)
Kenny Dope (Kay-Dee Records)
Kimmo Pohjonen / Samuli Kosminen Kluster (Westpark Music)
Laurent Garnier & Bugge Wesseltoft feat. Philippe Nadaud (FCom)
Liars (Mute)
Linton Kwesi Johnson & Dennis Bovell Dub Band
Marc Richter plays Dekorder (Dekorder)
Miguel Carvalhais & Return play Cronica Electronica (Cronica Electronica)
Modeselektor (B-Pitch Control)
Mondii aka Nao Sugimoto plays Spekk (Spekk)
Nightmares on Wax (Warp)
Nobukazu Takemura (Thrill Jockey)
One Self (Ninja Tune)
Rahzel & DJ JS-One (MCA)
Richard Chartier plays LINE (12k)
Richie Hawtin vs Ricardo Villalobos (Minus)
Sasha (Global Underground)
Satoshi Tomiie (SAW)
Señor Coconut and his Orchestra feat. Argenis Brito (Essay)
Shit & Shine (Riot Season)
Superthriller (Mint)
The MFA (B-Pitch Control)
Tiga (Pias)
Tucker (Oddjob)
Ugly Duckling (All City)
Yanagisawa Marina


CAPSULE presents
Modified Toy Orchestra

Frank D'Arpino
The Considerate Builders Scheme

HEFTY presents
Eliot Lipp
Ray Rodriguez

Mitchell Akiyama

I.N.T. featuring Melodee: La Melodia
Kindred Spirits Soundsystem feat. Rich Medina & Antal

MOSZ presents
Kapital Band 1

Aardvarck (Rush Hour)
C-mon & Kypski (Supertracks)
Pete Philly & Perquisite (Epitaph)

PLOP presents
Masami Shimomura

SCHEMATIC presents
Otto Von Schirach

Body Code
Ryan Elliott

Inch Time
Static Caravan DJ

SCAPE presents
Barbara Preisinger
Bus Feat. MC Soom-T
Pole & Band

(Source: Sonar 2006)

Look out for Beat Factor's exclusive coverage of Sonar 2006 this summer.

Related Links

Sonar 2006 lineup published

April 10, 2006 at 2:39 AM CEST

Comments on this article: