John Digweed returns with the third Transitions CD

Digweed returns with the eagerly anticipated third volume in his acclaimed Transitions series. It features 20 tracks, each of them being re-edited by Digweed himself.

"Musically speaking, I've been shifting through the gears over the series," he says "and we're now approaching top speed. This mix still represents an immediate snapshot of my favourite tunes and producers, but it's also about that specific energy you get at 3 or 4am at the best clubs or festivals around the world", Digweed says.

Win one copy of Transitions vol. 3 here!

Read the review here!

To capture and realise this John worked a whopping 20 tracks into the album. "Running the tracklist up so high was a conscious decision", he elaborates, "it allowed me to generate that energy and atmosphere, which I further reinforced by creating exclusive edits."

In the overall running time the passages where there isn't a mix running are actually shorter than those where they are. It's an intense ride which in true Digweed fashion builds over its 78-minute excursion. The mix kicks off with Sasha's elusively titled 'Coma '. Moving on highlights include the innovative use of Lawrence's 'Along The Wire', broken down and part-used throughout its neighbours 'Sweet N Candy' and 'Einzelkind'. The Dusty Kid / Aldo Kadiz mash-up, 'Begun The End Has' from Harthouse regular Joel Mull, the incredible Josh Wink remix of 'Someone Else' and Gui Boratto's emotive interpretation of Adam Freeland's latest, 'Silverlake Pills' are similarly outstanding.

The finished version of T3 will also feature a second disc containing a brand new exclusive 25-minute track from the minds of John and Nick Muir: "We started on it earlier in the year", says Digweed, "And it quite literally grew and grew and grew from there. It reached a point where it seemed better suited to an album, so I hit upon the idea of marrying it with T3 as a way of giving something back to our fans."

Track list:

1. COMA – coma 1 (Intro Edit)
2. Marc Marzenit – Spheere
3. Sweet N Candy – There
4. Lawrence – Along The Wire (Superpitcher Mix)
5. Einzelkind - Maferefumeco
6. Christian Fischer – Advance Panorama
7. Daniela Stickroth – Chest In The Attic
8. Joel Mull – Begun The End Has
9. Paul Ritch - Messene
10. Reshuffle - Paparazzi
11. Pelle Buys – Come Into My World (Chaim Mix)
12. Chaim - Genesis
13. Dusty Kid – Kore [mashed with...]
14. Aldo Cadiz – JS Cuba
15. Ink & Needle - Seven
16. Someone Else - Lowdown Brittle (Josh Wink's Profound Sound Interpretation)
17. Solead – Giddy Down (Jamie Stevens Mix)
18. Adam Freeland – Silverlake Pills (Gui Boratto Remix)
19. Umek - Ricochet Effect
20. Guy J – Save me

John Digweed returns with the third Transitions CD

August 15, 2007 at 4:27 PM CEST

Comments on this article: